Two sobriety checkpoints planned tonight in northern Franklin County


COLUMBUS, Ohio -- The Franklin County DUI Task Force will hold two sobriety checkpoints tonight to combat impaired driving.

The checkpoints will be on Cleveland Avenue near Hanawalt Road in Westerville and Schrock Road near Garden Terrace Road in the city of Columbus.

The Franklin County DUI Task Force members will conduct the sobriety check between 7 p.m. and 11:30 p.m.

Advertisement - Story continues below

The task force says it wants to impress upon those who will be consuming alcohol to plan for a designated driver or make other arrangements.


EDITOR’S NOTE: Why are the locations and times of a sobriety checkpoint released?

Guidelines issued by the NHTSA instruct law enforcement to “aggressively” publicize the locations.

The goal, according to the NHTSA, is to not only to deter impaired drivers from getting behind the wheel, but also to assure the protection of constitutional rights for both police and the public.

Filed under: