Breaking News
More () »

WBNS-10TV Columbus, Ohio | Columbus News, Weather & Sports |

Ohio State DE Chase Young wins Bronko Nagurski Trophy

He joins James Laurinaitis as the second Buckeye to win the award.
Ohio State defensive end Chase Young in the second half of an NCAA college football game in Ann Arbor, Mich., Saturday, Nov. 30, 2019. (AP Photo/Paul Sancya)

Ohio State defensive end Chase Young has been awarded Bronco Nagurski Trophy as the nation’s top defensive player according to the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Young was the fourth Bronko Nagurski Trophy finalist from Ohio State, after Andy Katzenmoyer in 1997 and James Laurinaitis in both 2006 and 2007.

He joins Laurinaitis as the second Buckeye to win the award.

The other finalists were Auburn defensive tackle Derrick Brown, Georgia safety J.R. Reed, Clemson linebacker Isaiah Simmons and Minnesota defensive back Antoine Winfield Jr.

In addition to winning the Nagurski Trophy, Young was named the best player in the Big Ten Conference after winning the Chicago Tribune Silver Football award.

He was also named the Big Ten's Defensive Lineman of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year.

Young is a finalist for five other awards: the Heisman Bednarik, Maxwell, Ted Hendricks and Walter Camp awards.