Ryan Day named Big Ten Coach of the Year by conference media

Ryan Day | Sept. 21, 2019 (Photo credit: Dave McMannis)

The Ohio State Buckeyes head coach Ryan Day has earned the school's first Big Ten Coach of the Year since 1979.

On Tuesday, Day was named the Dave McClain Coach of the Year Award as selected by the conference media.

In his first season, Day has led the No. 1 ranked Buckeyes to a 12-0 record and playing for Big Ten Championship this weekend.

Advertisement - Story continues below

Ohio State’s prior Big Ten coaches of the year are Earle Bruce (1979) and Woody Hayes (1973 and 1975).

P.J. Fleck was named as the Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year by the conference coaches. It is the fifth time in 19 years two coaches split the coach of the year honors.

To view the Buckeyes who earned Big Ten defensive honors, click here.

Filed under: