Ohio State's Chase Young wins Ted Hendricks Award as nation’s top defensive end

FILE - In this Oct. 18, 2019, file photo, Ohio State defensive end Chase Young looks at the scoreboard during the second half of an NCAA college football game against Northwestern, in Evanston, Ill. (AP Photo/Charles Rex Arbogast, File)

Ohio State defensive end Chase Young has been named the 2019 winner of the Ted Hendricks Award, which is given to the nation’s top defensive end.

Young is the Buckeyes first-ever recipient and the fourth from the Big Ten Conference.

In 2019, Young leads the nation is sacks (16.5), sacks per game (1.50), sack yards (117) and tackles-for-loss per game (1.91).

Advertisement - Story continues below

His 21.0 total TFLs ranks fourth while is 129 total TFL yards and six forced fumbles are second.

Young’s 2019 season accolades now include:

  • Big Ten Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year
  • Big Ten Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year
  • Chicago Tribune Silver Football Award winner
  • First Team All-Big Ten
  • Ted Hendricks Award winner
  • Nagurski Trophy winner

Young is also a finalist for the Heisman Trophy along with the Walter Camp, Maxwell and Bednarik awards.

Filed under: