Breaking News
More () »

Election results: Winners for Ohio's 15th congressional district decided

The general election will be held on Nov. 2.

COLUMBUS, Ohio — The winners for Ohio's special election for the state's 15th congressional district have been decided.

Political newcomer Mike Carey won the crowded Republican primary.

State Rep. Allison Russo has won the Democratic primary against her lone competitor Greg Betts.

The seat was previously held by Steve Stivers. The Republican left Congress in May 2021 to accept the position of President and CEO of the Ohio Chamber of Commerce.

The general election will be held on Nov. 2.

The candidates included current and former elected officials.

Here is the full list:

  • John Adams (R)
  • Mike Carey (R)
  • Eric Clark (R)
  • Thad Cooperrider (R)
  • Ruth Edmonds (R)
  • Ron Hood (R)
  • Thomas Hwang (R)
  • State Sen. Stephanie Kunze (R)
  • State Rep. Jeff LaRe (R)
  • State Sen. Bob Peterson (R)
  • Omar Tarazi (R)
  • Greg Betts (D)
  • State Rep. Allison Russo (D)

Face the State anchor Tracy Townsend has been covering the special election in recent weeks. You can watch previous installments of Face the State by clicking here.

Before You Leave, Check This Out