x

WBNS-10TV Columbus, Ohio | Columbus News, Weather & Sports |

Rise in visitors to the Metro Parks ahead of 2020 Winter Hikes

The Metro Parks saw an increase in visitors in December. Now, they're continuing the momentum with the 2020 Winter Hikes series.

COLUMBUS – It has been an unseasonably warm January thus far, which has made for perfect weather to get outside.

In fact, the Columbus and Franklin County Metro Parks has seen a 5 percent increase in visitors this year; a 4 percent increase for the month of December, according to Metro Parks spokeswoman, Peg Hanley.

Still hoping to get to the Metro Parks?

The Winter Hikes might be the answer.

Every Saturday and Sunday through February 22 the Metro Parks will host a hike at a new park, ending with food and hot drinks.

Find the Winter Hikes schedule below:

JANUARY

BLACKLICK WOODS
Sat Jan 4 / 10am - 2 or 4 miles

SHARON WOODS
Sat Jan 11 / 10am - 2 or 4 miles

PRAIRIE OAKS
Sun Jan 12 / 2pm - 1, 3 or 5 miles

SCIOTO AUDUBON
Sat Jan 18 / 10am - 1 or 2 miles

CLEAR CREEK
Sat Jan 25 / 10am - 1, 3 or 5 miles

INNISWOOD
Sun Jan 26 / 2pm - 2 miles

FEBRUARY

BLENDON WOODS
Sat Feb 1 / 10am - 2 or 4 miles

SCIOTO GROVE
Sun Feb 2 / 2pm - 1 or 2 miles

HIGHBANKS
Sat Feb 8 / 10am - 2.5 or 5 miles

GLACIER RIDGE
Sun Feb 9 / 2pm - 2 miles

THREE CREEKS
Sat Feb 15 / 10am - 1, 3 or 5.6 miles

SLATE RUN
Sun Feb 16 / 2pm - 2.5 or 5 miles

BATTELLE DARBY CREEK
Sat Feb 22 / 10am - 2, 4 or 6 miles

Click here for more information on the Columbus and Franklin County Metro Parks.