New law impacts first-time adult drivers in Ohio

Pixabay
Published: .
Updated: .

If you are over the age of 18 and looking to get an Ohio license, a new change has put more at risk if you don’t pass on the first attempt.

Beginning July 1, adult drivers who don't pass the exam on their first attempt would be required to participate in an abbreviated driving course.

Right now, minors are required to complete driving courses – eight hours of in-car instruction and 24 hours in a classroom – before they can take a driving exam.

According to the state of Ohio, both in-car and in-classroom requirements are waived for adults.

The new abbreviated course for adults would require completing a four-hour course either online or in-person and four hours of behind-the-wheel training with an instructor or 24 hours with a licensed driver 21 or older.

“I mean between driving instructors we see the mayhem on the road each and every day,” Driving instructor Charlie Allen said. “This is a long time coming, it’s a step in the right direction. In my opinion, they could do more, but it is a step in the right direction."