LIST: Central Ohio finalists for the 2018 Jefferson Awards


Nathali Bertran - assists DACA recipients

Santino Carnevale - raises money for cancer research

Stephanie Catani - holds fashion shows to fight human trafficking

Amanda Chamberlain - helps struggling high school students

Ruth Cooperrider - supports members of the military and their families

Sarah Eplin Smalley - advocates for special needs students

Lawrence Fisher - volunteers to preserve historic properties

Terry Green - empowers communities through social justice

Harold Hess - makes and donates toys for needy children

Kristi Johnson - supports programs to help children

Cathy Levy - raises money for cerebral palsy research

Matthew Linsenmayer - provides adaptive sports therapies for special needs children

Kyle McKay - advocates for individuals with Down syndrome

Joseph Morbitzer - organizes community policing programs

Robert Patterson - champions for improvement in the Marion Franklin community

Sean Patterson - provides life skills classes for at-risk youth

Dorcas Porter - cares for hundreds of foster children

Amy Ramsey - supports the homeless, the addicted and the mentally ill

Patricia Von Niessen - brings music and art to Columbus’ west side



The Jefferson Awards are presented by WBNS-10TV, Schoedinger Funeral and Cremation Services, and Lifeline of Ohio to recognize individuals who do extraordinary things in their community without expecting anything in return.

Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis and Senator Robert Taft, Jr., of Ohio created the national Jefferson Awards in 1972 to highlight the works of unsung heroes. Television stations and newspapers across the country tell the positive stories about these volunteers and motivate individual responsibility for civic and neighborhood improvement.

Our local Jefferson Award finalists and winners come in all shapes and sizes … from the 12-year-old who collects books for children who don’t have any to the senior citizen who visits military veterans in hospitals.

Filed under: