Learning your love language can go a long way in boosting your relationships


COLUMBUS - Showing love to your family members may go beyond saying, "I love you."

Author Gary Champman wrote a book titled, "The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts." It explains the simple and practical ways to communicate love and how your partner may experience that differently than you.

Chapman identifies the five love languages as:

Advertisement - Story continues below

1. Acts of Service
2. Physical Touch
3. Quality Time
4. Words of Affirmation
5. Receiving Gifts

Wittenberg University Associate Professor Katie Warber has been teaching Chapman's philosophy to students.

Understanding how your partner experiences love, Warber explains, can be crucial to a happy family life.

"Understanding what your partner values, A) may not be what you value and B) is something you have to actively work to live every day," she said.

Warber said many families either don't know about the love languages or feel that there is not enough time for it. She insists it can create a happier, more unified family when it is used. She said it often begins with parents and the good habits are handed down to children.

"They're very simple to implement. Like I said, they're not these big grandiose gestures," said Warber.

Warber says 'Acts of Service' can be something simple such as emptying the dishwasher or picking up groceries. For physical touch, holding hands or sitting close is a good way to show someone you love them.

Click here to find out which love language you speak.

Filed under: