Friday kicks off inaugurals for new Ohio officeholders

The Ohio Statehouse (WBNS-10TV)

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) — The swearing-in of Ohio's next state treasurer kicks off a long weekend of inaugural events for new statewide officeholders.

All five of the state's executive offices opened up this year as a result of term limits. Republicans maintained control of all five.

State Rep. Robert Sprague has the first inaugural of the group, a swearing-in in Findlay Friday evening. He replaces Republican Josh Mandel.

State Sen. Frank LaRose is sworn in as secretary of state at noon Saturday in Akron. State Rep. Keith Faber takes his oath as Ohio's next auditor that same day in Celina. They succeed Republicans Jon Husted and Dave Yost, respectively.

Yost and Husted are sworn in Monday as attorney general and lieutenant governor, respectively, as is Gov.-elect Mike DeWine.