Dobbins, Fields, Okudah and Young named as national award finalists

(Left to Right) J.K. Dobbins, Justin Fields, Jeff Okudah and Chase Young (AP Photos)

Four Ohio State football players were named finalists Monday for national awards.

Running back J.K. Dobbins is a finalist for the Doak Walker Award; quarterback Justin Fields is a finalist for the Davey O’Brien Award; cornerback Jeff Okudah is a finalist for the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award; and defensive end Chase Young is a finalist for two awards that will be presented that evening: the Bednarik Award and the Maxwell Award.

Dobbins is currently fourth nationally in rushing yards (1,446), fifth in rushing yards per game (131.5), eighth in yards per carry (6.60) and seventh in rushing touchdowns (15).

Advertisement - Story continues below

He became the second player in Ohio State history to have three seasons of 1,000+ rushing yards. He’s currently third in career rushing yards at Ohio State with 3,902.

In his first year with the Buckeyes, Fields has thrown for 33 touchdown passes with one interception. He ranks in the top 10 nationally in touchdown passes, passing efficiency (190.3), competition percentage (69.4) and points responsible for (258).

Okudah has been part of Ohio State’s pass defense that is ranked first in allowing an average of just 126.2 yards a game.

This season, he has 25 total tackles, three interceptions, four pass breakups and two forced fumbles.

Young leads the nation in quarterback sacks (16.5) this season with 19.5 tackles-for-loss and six forced fumbles.

Against Penn State, he broke the school’s single-season sack record and has the most sacks by a Big Ten player in 21 years. He’s currently second on Ohio State’s career list for sacks.

The Home Depot College Football Awards will be held on Thursday, Dec. 12, at the Chick-fil-A College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. It will be televised on ESPN.

Filed under: