Breaking News
More () »

WBNS wins APME Award for Excellence; most honored big-market Ohio TV station

WBNS-10TV took First Place in six categories, including Best Digital Presence. Angela Reighard named "Rising Star."
Credit: WBNS-10TV

The Ohio Associated Press Media Editors made WBNS-10TV the most awarded big-market television station in the entire Buckeye State for its work in 2020.

WBNS-10TV took First Place in six categories, including General Excellence and Best Digital Presence (Dan Gialluca and Brad Bader), while also winning Second Place in two other categories.

In addition to General Excellence and Best Digital Presence, WBNS-10TV finished first for... 

  • Best Weathercast (Ashlee Baracy and Jennifer Nickels; "Labor Day Tornado")
  • Best Investigative Reporting (Bennett Haeberle and Christopher Kettler; "Sequel Pomegranate")
  • Best Producer (Jonathan Kielholz)
  • Best Use of Photography (Nicki Thacker; "Schnormeier Gardens")

Its Second Place finishes were for Best Broadcast Writing (Bryant Somerville; "Kids Say Thanks and What's on Your Mind") and Best Coverage of a Scheduled Event ("Civil Unrest Memorial Day Weekend").

Also, WBNS-10TV reporter Angela Reighard was singled out as the "Rising Star" in Broadcast.

Included in the judges' comments were the following: 

Best Digital Presence = "WBNS-TV's social media pages themselves proved their excellence online. They used a variety of posts, clever post copy, and a mix of both national and local news - always pushing back to the website to gain page views."

Best Weathercast = "Good job with coverage, solid presentation and use of storm track, etc. Good energy and informative without alarming viewers."

Best Use of Photography = "I felt like I was there. The use of drone shots, a unique camera angle for the interview, and NAT sounds worked beautifully together."

Best Coverage of a Scheduled Event = "Very good job covering this. Reporters were solid in the field and remained calm while giving important information in stressful situations. Great job."

Go to OhioAPME.com for a full list of this year's winners.

Before You Leave, Check This Out