3 Buckeyes named finalists for Chicago Tribune’s Silver Football Award

Justin Fields, Chase Young and J.K. Dobbins (AP Photos)

Three members of the Ohio State football team have been named finalists for the Chicago Tribune Silver Football award.

Quarterback Justin Fields, running back J.K. Dobbins and defensive end Chase Young are nominated along with Wisconsin running back Jonathan Taylor.

Fields has thrown for 2,654 yards with 37 touchdowns and has rushed for 470 yards with 10 touchdowns.

Advertisement - Story continues below

Dobbins has 1,657 rushing yards with 19 touchdowns.

In 10 games, Young has 16.5 sacks, 38 tackles including 19.5 tackles for loss and seven forced fumbles.

Taylor has 1,761 rushing yards and 20 touchdowns this season.

The award is voted on by the conference’s head coaches. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own players.

Dwayne Haskins won the award last year and J.T. Barrett won it in 2016.

The winner will be announced Friday morning.