SW Ohio among 12 named 'Manufacturing Communities'

CINCINNATI (AP) — A Cincinnati-Dayton aerospace corridor including northern Kentucky has been chosen among 12 initial "Manufacturing Communities" in an effort by President Barack Obama's administration to support long-term economic development.

The Commerce Department says the Southwestern Ohio Aerospace Region along Interstate 75 includes 27 counties stretching into northern Kentucky. A Wednesday statement from Washington says there are coordinated efforts to expand training and add small manufacturers for aerospace needs.

The region rich in aviation history is home to the Wright-Patterson Air Force Base near Dayton and GE Aviation just north of Cincinnati.

The designated communities were chosen from 70 applicants. They'll work with multiple federal agencies with $1.3 billion available in funds for targeted investments in public-private partnerships.

The Obama administration plans a second round of community competition.

©2016 by The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.