Pynchon, Lahiri finalists for National Book Awards


NEW YORK (AP) — Thomas Pynchon, Jhumpa Lahiri and George Saunders are among the finalists for the National Book Awards.

A month after releasing long-lists of 10 in each of the four competitive categories, the National Book Foundation on Wednesday announced the five remaining writers for fiction, nonfiction, poetry and young people's literature. Finalists for nonfiction include three New Yorker staff writers: Lawrence Wright, George Packer and Jill Lepore.

Winners will be announced Nov. 20 at a dinner ceremony in Manhattan. Each winner will receive $10,000.

©2016 by The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.