Ohio State's Heyward On Hendricks Award Watch List

UPDATED: Saturday August 21, 2010 3:28 PM

Ohio State senior Cameron Heyward learned on Wednesday that he is among 36 preseason candidates for the 2010 Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award.

Heyward, who was named to the 2010 Playboy Preseason All-America Team in June, also is on the preseason watch lists for the Lombardi and Lott Trophy. The senior from Suwanee, Ga., led the Buckeyes with 6 1/2 sacks and had 10 tackles for loss for Ohio State's top-five-ranked defense in 2009.

He led all defensive linemen with 46 tackles and had his best game of the year with 9 tackles and 2 sacks in the win at Penn State. A 2009 second team All-Big Ten selection, Heyward will anchor a defensive line that loses five off the unit from last year.

SPECIAL SECTION:  Ohio State Football

Now in its ninth season, the Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football's first three-time first-team All-American.

Previous recipients of the Hendricks Award include: 2002 - Terrell Suggs (Arizona State), 2003-04 - David Pollack (Georgia), 2005 - Elvis Dumervil (Louisville), 2006 - LaMarr Woodley (Michigan), 2007 - Chris Long (Virginia), 2008 - Brian Orakpo (Texas) and 2009 - Jerry Hughes (TCU).

This year's preseason candidates include, but are not limited to, the following players:
Sam Acho, Texas
Kapron Lewis-Moore, Notre Dame
Pierre Allen, Nebraska
Greg Lloyd, Connecticut
Christian Anthony, Grambling
Kentrell Lockett, Ole Miss
Allen Bailey, Miami
Cliff Matthews, South Carolina
Jeremy Beal, Oklahoma
Josh McNary, Army
Broderick Binns, Iowa
Pernell McPhee, Mississippi State
Da'quan Bowers, Clemson
Bruce Miller, Central Florida
Adrian Clayborn, Iowa
Von Miller, Texas A&M
Jack Crawford, Penn State
Dontay Moch, Nevada
Marcell Dareus, Alabama
Nick Perry, USC
Ricky Elmore, Arizona
Robert Guinn, North Carolina
Jonathan Freeny, Rutgers
Johnathan Rainey, New Mexico
Cameron Heyward, Ohio State
Adrian Robinson, Temple
Datone Jones, UCLA
Greg Romeus, Pittsburgh
Cameron Jordan, California
Kenny Rowe, Oregon
Thomas Keiser, Stanford
Aldon Smith, Missouri
Ryan Kerrigan, Purdue
Chris Walker, Tennessee
Jake Laptad, Kansas
Ryan Winterswyk, Boise State

Stay with 10TV News and 10TV.com for continuing Ohio State football coverage.