Rutgers, Maryland Now Official Members Of Big Ten


The musical chairs of conference realignment continued on Tuesday as Rutgers and Maryland officially took their seats at the Big Ten table.

It's a move that will mean millions of dollars for the schools. While athletes in all sports at the two schools will now compete in the Big Ten, it has been the football programs that have driven conference movement in recent years.

The Scarlet Knights will make their debut in Big Ten action at home against Penn State on September 13. The Terrapins will open conference play at Indiana on Sept. 27, before hosting Ohio State in their first Big Ten home game on Oct. 4.

The 2014 football season will feature new division alignments, with Maryland and Rutgers joined by Indiana, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State and Penn State in the East Division. Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin will play in the West Division.

Maryland and Rutgers will take part in their first Big Ten event during the 2014 Football Media Days.

The Terrapins and Scarlet Knights are not alone in switching conferences - ten other FBS teams also switched this week.

Of the 128 schools to play at the FBS level this season, more than 40 percent have made at least one move over the past decade.

So some experts are asking if the landscape has finally shifted to a point of stability.

With legal and philosophical issues surrounding the NCAA and long-term TV contracts in place for all five of the major leagues, a lull is likely.

But in this game within the games, it's wise to never say never.