Ohio State's Braxton Miller Named Big Ten's Thompson-Randle El Freshman Of The Year

Published: .
Updated: .

Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller was named the Big Ten's first Thompson-Randle El Freshman Of The Year recipient, the conference announced Wednesday.

A two-time Big Ten Freshman of the Week honoree, Miller is the seventh Ohio State player to take home the conference's Freshman of the Year accolade.

The quarterback played in 11 games for the Buckeyes and started the team's last nine games.

Miller finished the regular season ranked among the conference's top 10 in total offense with 11 passing and seven rushing touchdowns to go with 1,692 total yards.

The award is named for Minnesota's Darrell Thompson and Indiana's Antwaan Randle El.

Wisconsin's Montee ball was awarded the Graham-George Offensive Player of the year, named for Northwestern's Otto Graham and Ohio State's Eddie George.

Devon Still, of Penn State was named the Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year.  The award is named for Minnesota's Bronko Nagurski and Michigan's Charles Woodson.

Michigan coach Brady Hoke was named the Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year by coaches and the Dave McClain Coach of the Year by the media.  The coaches award was named for Ohio State's Woody Hayes and Michigan's Bo Schembechler.  The media award was named for Wisconsin's Dave McClain.

Stay with 10TV News and 10TV.com for continuing Ohio State football coverage.