Ohio Officials Identify 70 MPH Speed Zones

Published: .
Updated: .

The Ohio Department of Transportation has released a map identifying highways that will change to have 70 mile per hour speed limits this summer.

The green light for the change is being given to 570 miles of Ohio roadways.

The state transportation budget bill allowed the change to 70 MPH for interstates that are "outside urbanized areas." The changes will go into effect on July 1.

Here's the list of the new 70 MPH zones:

     Interstate 70 - From the Indiana border in the west to just outside of Wheeling, W. Va., in the east, excluding Dayton, Columbus and Zanesville

     Interstate 71 - From the Jeremiah Morrow Bridge in southwest Ohio to just south of the border of the Cuyahoga/Medina County line in the north, excluding Columbus

     Interstate 75 - From just outside of Toledo going south until just north of Dayton, excluding Findlay and Lima

     Interstate 76 - From just outside Akron going east to just west of Youngstown

     Interstate 77 - From just outside of Canton south to the West Virginia border

     Interstate 90 - From just outside of Cleveland to the Pennsylvania border

The 70 mph speed limit is not new to all of Ohio.  Motorists are already legally permitted to drive 70 miles per hour on all 241 miles of the Ohio Turnpike.

Watch 10TV News and refresh 10TV.com for more information.