7 Columbus Schools Recommended For Closure


A memo sent to the Columbus School superintendent recommends that the district close seven schools this summer.

The Columbus Dispatch filed a public records request to get the recommended closure list that was sent to the superintendent.

The list included Brookhaven and Independence High Schools, Monroe Middle School, Arlington Park Elementary, Fifth Avenue Alternative Elementary, Maybury Elementary, and Siebert Elementary.

The method used to select the schools took into consideration building usage, capacity, condition and enrollment, the memo said.

Board policy requires the district to review buildings for closure every three years, the Dispatch reported.