10TV News Wins Cronkite Award For Excellence In Political Coverage


The Norman Lear Center at the University of Southern California’s Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism announced today that WBNS-10TV has been awarded a 2013 Walter Cronkite award, one of the television industry's most coveted awards for journalistic excellence.

The station is being recognized for its 2011-2012 political coverage, with a Special Commendation for Citizen Engagement in the Local Broadcast Station category.  Judges were impressed with the station’s online interactive voter guide, created in partnership with the Columbus Dispatch and ThisWeek Community News, which helped voters learn how the issues affected their lives personally. Judges also recognized WBNS for its “Show You Care & Vote” bus tour, which traveled to college campuses across the state, registering more than 130 people to vote.

“We are especially pleased that this honor recognizes the coverage partnership between 10TV, The Columbus Dispatch and ThisWeek Community News,” said WBNS-10TV Director of News Elbert Tucker.  “The 10TV News team put an incredible amount of work into political coverage during 2012. Our mission was to be a strong resource for Ohio voters.”

WBNS-10TV was one of a select few winners, in a year that saw a record number of entries, well over 100, submitted for the competition. 

The Walter Cronkite Awards for Excellence in Television Political Journalism are named for distinguished journalist and longtime CBS anchor Walter Cronkite. In addition to the Cronkite/Jackson judges, a panel of nine additional judges was chaired by Geneva Overholser, director of the USC Annenberg School of Journalism.

The Dispatch Broadcast Group includes WBNS-TV, WBNS-AM/FM, Ohio News Network and Radio Sound Network in Columbus; WTHR-TV and WALV-LP in Indianapolis; Dispatch Interactive Television in Columbus and Indianapolis.