10TV News Wins 12 Emmy Awards


WBNS-10TV took home 12 top honors at the 49th Annual Ohio Valley Regional Emmy Awards.

The 10TV staff was awarded a dozen Emmys for journalistic excellence at the event held Saturday, July 20, hosted by The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Ohio Valley Chapter in downtown Cincinnati.  In addition, veteran 10TV Anchor Jerry Revish earned the Silver Circle Emmy for contributions he has made to the industry throughout his distinguished career.  

An award for “Special Achievement: News Excellence” was won by 10TV Director of News Elbert Tucker.

Executive Producer Gretchen Walsh and Director Benjamin Tate earned an Emmy for best “Newscast-Daytime and Weekend (Markets 1-74).”

Morning Anchors Angela An, Jeff Hogan, Karina Nova and Mike Davis received an award in the category of “Breaking News” for their coverage of the Train Derailment Explosion, along with morning news team members Gretchen Walsh, Michael Gravely, Jr., Tino Ramos, Shayla Reaves, Brian Wicker, Benjamin Yaussy, Stephanie O’Grady, Matthew Martens, and Drew Schaar.

Reporter Kevin Landers and Photographer Bill Reagan took home an Emmy in the “General Assignment Report- No Time Limit” category for “Brinks Job.”

10TV Anchor Kristyn Hartman and Photographer Jeff Ritter picked up an award in the “Education/Schools-Program” category for their piece “This is Colerain,” which featured a special central Ohio school that maintains a zero-tolerance policy for prejudice.

A special story about how a central Ohio family and community embraced a transgender child earned 10TV Reporter Ashleigh Barry and Photographer Walter Tyler an Emmy.  The award was won in the “Human Interest-Program” category.

10TV Sports Anchor Dom Tiberi, along with Joe Brackman and Brian Baxendell, of 10TV Productions, collected an award for “Game Time with Urban Meyer,” in the “Sports-Daily or Weekly Program” category.

10TV Director of Community Affairs Angela Pace collected an award for the “2012 Jefferson Awards,” in the category of “Public/Current/Community Affairs Program,” along with Special Projects Producer Bryan K. Wolfe and Brackman.

An Emmy was presented to Hartman, Revish, Brackman, Baxendell, Rochelle Young and Frank Willson for “Everything Matters- Inside the New Nationwide Children’s Hospital.”  The piece looked took viewers inside the newly renovated Nationwide Children’s Hospital.

Reporter Glenn McEntyre received Emmy awards for his story “A Hero’s Healing” in the “Reporter-Features/Human Interest” and “Writer” categories.  

“These awards affirm what I already knew,” said WBNS-10TV President and General Manager John Cardenas.  “The staff at 10TV continues to work at a level that leads the way in this market.  They consistently break new ground and set the bar higher and I am very proud of their accomplishments.”

“My hat is off to every team member in every department who made these honors possible,”

said Director of News Elbert Tucker. “These awards are a testament to the excellent work our staff puts forth day in and day out to provide the highest quality news and information.   In a sea of competition, we were voted the best.  That speaks volumes about our value and what we bring to local viewers every day.”

The Ohio Valley Chapter of the NATAS serves the following markets: Ashland, KY; Bluefield/Beckley/Oak Hill, WV; Charleston/Huntington, WV: Cincinnati, OH; Clarksburg/Weston, WV; Columbus, OH; Dayton, OH; Evansville, IN; Lexington, KY; Louisville, KY; Parkersburg, WV; Terre Haute, IN; and Zanesville OH.
The Dispatch Broadcast Group includes WBNS-TV, WBNS-AM/FM in Columbus, Ohio; and WTHR-TV in Indianapolis, Indiana.